Loading Events
  • This event has passed.


The ICSI and the NIICS have established an annual Medical Student Essay Prize for the best essay written by an undergraduate in each university in Ireland on a topic related to Intensive Care Medicine. The winning essays from each university will be judged to select an overall national winner.

The winner in each university will receive a prize of €100 and the national winner will receive a prize of €250. The national winner will be invited to present their essay at an ICSI meeting later in the year.

 Eligible Students

Students studying medicine in a University in Ireland are eligible to apply.

Topics & Criteria

The essay may be on any topic relevant to Intensive Care and Intensive Care Medicine . This could include brief literature reviews or observational/reflective essays based on the students own experience in ICU.  Students might also be encouraged to consider the more humanistic aspects of Intensive Care and its sequelae

The essay should be the sole work of the applicant and should be no more than 1500 words (excluding references).   Standard criteria will be used for marking in each university.

Marks out of 100

Relevance                                                    30

Content and Analytical thought              30

Standard of writing & readability            40


The closing date for submissions is April 27th 2018.  Winner in each university will be announced before May 31st . From the university winners a national winner will be selected and this person will be asked to present their essay at the ICSI winter meeting.

Entries to be submitted by email to the nominated person in your university as per attached list.

For any further information or query contact Director/Supervisor of Intensive Care Medicine in your university (see list below) or you can contact Prof. G. Fitzpatrick (Gerry.fitzpatrick@amnch.ie)


Lead Persons for Undergraduate education in Intensive Care Medicine


College Directors ICM Teaching Submit to Address for submission
TCD G Fitzpatrick  (Tallaght) G. Fitzpatrick gerry.fitzpatrick@amnch.ie
T Ryan  (SJH)

Ignacio Martin Loeches (SJH)

RCSI Prof. G. Curley G. Curley gercurley@rcsi.ie
UCD Prof. D Buggy  (MMH) D. Buggy donal.buggy@ucd.ie
UHG Dr. Michael Scully M. Scully Mefscully@hotmail.com
UCC Dr P Seigne P.Seigne Patrick.seigne@hse.ie
UL Prof. D Harmon D. Harmon dominic.harmon@hse.ie
QUB Dr John McCaffrey J. Mc Caffrey Johnmccaffrey1@me.com